the unknown collective

 I recently visited the new kids on thee block: the unknown collective, a store dedicated to showcasing  new emerging NZ brands. And you know what… it’s a F R I C K E N COOL CONCEPT. What’s better then showcasing the new and talented emerging designers NZ has to offer!???? I spoke to Dom, mastermind behind T.U.C, to find out more.

What is the s t o r y behind The Unknown Collective?

At The Unknown Collective we showcase over 20 emerging New Zealand talent across fashion, jewellery, accessories and “one offs” like art, and ceramics at our Takapuna store and online, with stock and new brands changing all the time.

What m o t i v a t e d you to start the Collective?
After several set backs in progressing my career at other workplaces I decided to take matters into my own hands! Opening my own store has been a dream of mine since I first got into retail over 7 years ago. Last year, thanks to the support of my family, I was able to open my first store. I wanted to do something different to what other stores were doing, on the one hand that meant not competing with them on brands stocked on the other it meant creating a store experience that was unlike any other. So came The Unknown Collective and The Unknown Tailor concepts – exclusively stocking “unknown” New Zealand brands (T.U.C) and offering an in-store customisation service where customers pick a blank garment to work off, choose fabrics to add to the blank and work with our designer to create a unique design.

Why do you think it’s i m p o r t a n t to celebrate NZ designers/creatives?

It is so important to get behind NZ made / design / creative people or else there won’t be any of them left in NZ. In my opinion you get a superior level of quality, aesthetics and longevity out of product that is designed and or made here you also have a special connection to it. There are some really good home grown businesses and brands out their, if they aren’t supported they will just dry up. Supporting local is a huge passion of mine.

Have you always had an interest in f a s h i o n yourself?  
Always been into style/fashion/street wear. Started my brand Stay True in 09 to reflect what I’m into in clothing form the brand has changed a lot between then and now. Really excited about our ranges for this year heading into some new territory design and production wise which is going to take the brand to knew heights! You can get a feel for what I’m inspired by and what will ultimately carry over into the clothes I make on my personal blog pmatilldoa.tumblr.com. You can see some videos of my brand in action here: http://vimeo.com/micahleebearden.

What l a b e l s do you stock?
So many!!! Here are some of them:
Bedrock Bones
dishonest want
DMRP
Falve
Fort Knox
Frank Stationery
FRENCHKONG
Hunter Gatherer
L I K E W O L F
Little Rich Kids
Lost Boys Collection
Lots of Spirit
Maraca
Satisfying Socks
Seabring Organics
Shooting Sparrow
Stay True
SYRE
Team Intl
The Lucid Collective
The Oblivious
Thick As Thieves
Twiceshy the Label
Under The Sun
Volume II
Young Pilgrims Jewellery

Where can we l o c a t e your store?! 
You can find us at 62 Hurstmere Road, Takapuna – real close to the beach and a bunch of other great stores / bars and eateries.
We are also online in the following locations:
facebook.com/theunknowncollectivenz 
& @the_unknowncollective on Instagram!

Leave a comment